Leaving the Scene (Hit and Run)

Leaving the Scene of Property Damage 

In Massachusetts, under MGL c. 90 s. 24, failure to stop after a collision and either exchange information with the other driver, or contact the police, is a misdemeanor that carries the following potential penalties: 

  • $200 fine
  • 2 years in jail
  • 60 day license loss (minimum), up to 1 year license loss
In order to be convicted of this offense, the prosecution must prove that you knew of the collision or property damage. In a case where the "damage" is just a scratch on the other car, or a flower you're alleged to have run over, the prosecution will likely have a difficult time proving that you knew of the "collision." You can't be expected to stop and exchange information or call the police for something that you did not know even occurred. For cases involving more extensive damage, a reasonable jury can infer that you knew there had been some sort of collision. 

Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury 

In Massachusetts, leaving the scene of personal injury carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence. Prosecutors take this charge very seriously, especially when the injured victim is seeking to have you prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. A prejudgment accord and satisfaction, where we work out an arrangement to pay the victim's medical bills and other expenses, can often be helpful in working out a more favorable deal for this criminal charge, hopefully avoiding a conviction and the mandatory jail time that comes with a conviction. 

Potential penalties for this offense include: 

  • 6 months in jail (minimum) up to 2 years in jail 
  • $500 fine (minimum) up to $1,000 fine
  • 1 year license loss (minimum), up to indefinite license loss**
** A subsequent conviction for this offense carries a minimum 2 year license loss.

Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury Resulting in Death

In Massachusetts, leaving the scene of personal injury resulting in death is a felony with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 1 year. The stakes are very high, and so is the level of care and attention that goes into defending these cases. Accident reconstruction, medical and autopsy reports, and eyewitness accounts must be carefully analyzed by a skilled criminal defense attorney. 

Potential penalties for this offense include: 
  • 1 year in jail (minimum), up to 10 years in state prison
  • $1,000 fine (minimum) up to $5,000 fine
  • 3 year license loss (minimum), up to indefinite license loss*
*A subsequent conviction for this offense carries a minimum 10 year license loss. 

Please click here for further details about this charge on our sister website, massduidefenselawyer.com, which is dedicated exclusively to motor vehicle crimes.

If you have been charged with leaving the scene of property damage or leaving the scene of personal injury in Massachusetts, contact our office immediately: 

(617) 830-2188

Free Consultation
Contact Us