Operating with a Suspended or Revoked License
In Massachusetts, under MGL c. 90 s. 23, operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license carries the following potential penalties:
- 10 days in jail
- $500 fine (minimum) up to $1,000 fine
- 60 day license loss (mandatory)
A subsequent offense for operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license carries a minimum mandatory 60-day jail sentence and the following potential penalties:
- 60 days in jail (minimum) up to 1 year in jail
- $1,000 fine
- 60 day license loss
If you are charged in Massachusetts with operating with a suspended or revoked license, you probably think that it's not too serious. In the grand scene of criminal offenses, you're right. The chances of seeing jail time for this charge, assuming you have no prior record, is almost nonexistent. However, as with any criminal charge, it must be handled with skilled care, as the consequences of an adverse disposition will last a lifetime. Pleading guilty to this offense means that you will forever have a misdemeanor criminal conviction on your record. This can affect employment, education, and even opportunities to volunteer as your kid's soccer coach. It will also trigger an automatic 60 day license loss. Even a CWOF, which is short of a conviction and ends in a "dismissal" upon successful completion of probation, can have much more significant effects than other types of dispositions. It is important that you contact our office prior to your court date in order to evaluate your situation. We are here to help resolve your matter as quickly and easily as possible so that you can put it behind you forever.
If you have been charged with operating with a suspended or revoked license in Massachusetts, contact our office immediately: (617) 830-2188
Please visitour sister website, massduidefenselawyer.com, which is dedicated exclusively to motor vehicle crimes.